Poem: The Gift Of Betrayal


You left me in despair,
You broke me beyond repair.
I trusted you blindly but you shattered me like glass;
Like I was useless or had no class.

You said you would change my world view,
But you left me alone and blue,
Used, abused, betrayed I feel;
Now I wait for karma to spin the wheel.

You came and I thought you were the light,
Alone I am fighting the stormy night.
You made promises but you broke them all,
Remember the heavens are listening to my call.

Your conscience will turn into a sharp knife,
My tears will haunt you all your life!
You would stay you made me believe,
The gift of betrayal I was not ready to receive!

Written By Shumila Malik

Leave a Reply

