Poem: Death

grave2

Death is in my thoughts,
I’m full of tangles and knots.
Fear is eating me inside,
I feel as if I have already died.

My heart is beating, my body’s warm;
I’m cold in this wintry storm.
I lay in bed wide awake,
Tired of wearing a smile so fake.

I wish to break free, I want to run;
How many more lessons do I have to learn?
I thought my ordeals would now leave,
Peace and serenity I shall receive.

But happiness seems lost somewhere,
This feeling of hopelessness I can’t bear.
Maybe when I die I’ll finally rest,
Please spare me God I can’t take this test!

Written By Shumila Malik

4 thoughts on “Poem: Death

Leave a Reply

