My Cruel Hunger Pangs

When you wake up in the morning, the first thought to enter your mind is “Wow, it’s morning!” and before you know it, you are in the shower. There are others who would slowly and clumsily leave their bed only to drop on the couch, glance at the newspaper, check out the headlines or read what the horoscope says and then consider shower, cell phone, coffee, work, not necessarily in that order. And then there are people like me who, upon waking up feel like some famished soul, deprived of food since ages! The moment I open my eyes in the morning, my mind and my stomach both start torturing me, pushing me to leave my bed and dash into the kitchen to fix breakfast. I mean I can actually feel my stomach cursing me. And this act of cruelty I have to face practically every morning!Paratha 1

Now, you must think just why I’m so starved. The first reason that probably jogs to your mind is I may be skipping dinner. But that isn’t true. I never skip dinner! My dinner is a bit light though. A glass of milk and two bananas. Sometimes milk and cookies. And you have got to believe me when I say I down my breakfast at 6:30 am and by 9 am, my stomach already starts grumbling. Gradually, my energy levels begin declining. And please don’t think I’m trying to survive on a tiny slice of bread. I eat a large, healthy home-made breakfast. A steaming cup of tea with a delicious, golden paratha! Sometimes, roti with butter or margarine. So, then how do you explain my hunger pangs? They are so wicked, I swear!

Actually, I blame my abnormally active metabolism. I mean seriously, how else would you explain this agony? Even right now, as I write this post,I can hear my stomach groaning. Morning, noon, evening or night, my cravings just won’t end. Once I ate four big bars of Snickers, all in one go. And my stomach wanted more! I’m not greedy or something. It’s just that my hunger pangs ambush me too often, aggravating my pleasant mood, and leaving me irritated! Are you thinking I’m huge like the Titanic? Well, I have a surprise for you. I don’t have to worry about putting on weight! I’m slim and most of my friends envy me. But that doesn’t stop my hunger pangs from tormenting me! 😦 

Written By Shumila Malik

4 thoughts on “My Cruel Hunger Pangs

Leave a Reply

