Essay: My First Night

dark-night-full-moon-2147641It was the most dreadful night of my life. The wind outside roared in anger, filling me with horror and fright. I wanted to run away. I waited desperately for someone to come and rescue me. I had no idea where I was. Had somebody kidnapped me? Were they planning to torture me? But why? I wanted to cry, but my eyes couldn’t produce tears. I wanted to scream but no sound came out of my throat. My mouth felt bitter and dry. My mind was whirling in circles, unable to understand what was happening. I looked around but could see nothing except darkness. It was scary! My body was cold and lifeless and hard like rubber. My hair was wet. My skin was broken. And my clothes? Didn’t even know what I was wearing. They didn’t feel like my clothes. I couldn’t breathe. I tried to get up and break free but couldn’t move an inch. I thought I was paralysed.

Amidst my confusion, my body started experiencing pain. It was too much to bear. I had never suffered anything like that before. When I shouted for help, nobody came! Then for some seconds, I thought the pain was gone and the next moment, it started all over again and this time it was worse than before. Feeling exhausted, I thought I would lose consciousness. Somebody was holding me so tight. I felt suffocated. Somebody was squeezing my body and crushing my bones. I was sure I was covered in bruises and scars. I was sure I was bleeding. It was the most agonizing moment of my life. I couldn’t endure the pain anymore. I was lying on a hard surface, feeling helpless, and unable to move. I thought I was going to die. Just then I realized where I was. This dark, lonely pit was my grave. It was my first night in there. And this was only the beginning…

Written By Shumila Malik

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Essay: My First Night

Leave a Reply

