The Real Me

file (5)

For a year and a half, I was Brooke and this name had been my identity on WordPress and Facebook. I had grown so used to it, I almost forgot my real name which is Shumila Malik. I have never been fond of my real name. I don’t feel interested in anything Pakistani. The local culture has never fascinated me and I have never been able to conform to the Pakistani society or its norms. I’m a Muslim and Pakistan has even modified Islam according to its own needs. So, basically, anything local is not really my thing.

Moreover, I’m head-over-heels for English language and the western culture, and their independent way of life has appealed to me since I was a little girl. With all that in my mind, Brooke seemed like it was the perfect name for me.

After a year or so, my best friend said I should change my name back to the original one and reveal to the world my real identity. Also, many Indian and Pakistani people online presumed I was someone from a foreign country. Many even thought I was male. It was the male thing that irritated me the most! Once on a discussion group on Facebook, one of the members thought I was Mr. Brooke. In fact, it happened more than once when people assumed I was a man though my profile picture shows an animated girl. Repeatedly explaining everybody that I was a girl, and that Brooke was a female name literally got on my nerves. And so, I decided to take my friend’s advice and now I am the real me, Shumila Malik from Pakistan!

file (4)

But am I really the real me now?? The girl inside me feels otherwise. The name Brooke had a profound effect on me. It was not just some western name I had chosen to be known online. It felt so close to my heart. It reflected who I really was. It made me feel so confident and so myself. Shumila, on the other hand seems so disconcerting; it feels like an impostor! It’s like Shumila is insignificant; imbecile and unfit while Brooke was wild and free and unconstrained yet possessed a grace that Shumila apparently lacks.

When I was Brooke, I felt like the intoxicating English wine, served with fresh strawberries like they did in Pretty Woman. Being Brooke was liberating. It was a journey towards a vivid dream, and totally exhilarating! Shumila, on the other hand feels like some escaped convict; more like a fugitive chasing liberty. 

I know I cannot renounce my identity or my origin, and even if I did, I would end up with a conflicting image and it would definitely mess up with my head. So, after a deep thought into the subject, I have now decided to accept my real name, my real identity, with some local flavour concocted that surely makes me all the more spicy and interesting!!

file (6)

Written by Shumila Malik

Leave a Reply

