Good Teacher Traits (Part Two)

Teacher

13. Know The Objective Of Your Lessons:

lesson-plans-and-aims

When students are made clear why they are being taught a certain topic, they find it easier to focus. If they see no purpose in studying Reported Speech for example they wouldn’t care to pay much attention to it. I remember once some students asked me why I was making them write a Journal Entry. I told them that not only it is one of the easiest ways to improve your writing skills, it also helps you release stress. This helped them to connect diary entry with real life!

14. Share Personal Experience:

share-your-story

Sharing personal experience with your class often motivates them to do better. Once in my creative writing class, I found some of my students struggling while others wrote really well.  I shared with them a small incident from my school years. I told them that when I was in Class Nine I couldn’t write interesting essays and once I even took help from my friend who almost wrote the entire essay for me. But afterwards when my teacher praised me I felt very guilty because it wasn’t my work. My friend had written my essay for me. After that incident, I felt I should try writing myself. I worked hard and things became easier for me. Why I shared my personal story with them was to just make them understand the fact that it was okay to face difficulties in writing and those difficulties can easily be overcome. 

 15. Give Students Time To Relax And Have Fun:

Students should never be over burdened with too much homework, and not even too much class work. Overdose of lectures and studies makes the class atmosphere dreary and dull. To keep students excited and fresh  just remember  “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” I believe it would be a good idea to give students small breaks between their study period. This especially applies when you have two or three consecutive periods with them. Teaching the same class for two or three periods continuously is also boring for a teacher. Small breaks of 5 minutes  to look around, chit-chat, drink water and relax before moving on to the next topic is a healthy exercise and maintains students’ eagerness to learn.

16.  Always Be The First To Greet Them:

good-morning--class--c0582a

 

I have often witnessed teachers feeling bad when students don’t stand up to greet them. Some even become furious and start lecturing them. My experience tells me not to do that. The easiest way to teach them to greet their elders is to simply be the first one to say good morning or afternoon. When you make it a point to do that everyday, eventually your students will learn that greetings are vital. Students follow their teachers and when you are always the first one to say  “hello”  they will learn the same from you.

17. Always Be On Time:

birthday_party_etiquettes_for_kids_and_parents_be_punctual

When writing about the qualities of a good teacher, I simply can’t miss the punctuality issue. Good teachers are always regular. They make it a point to be in their classes on time. As teachers, we teach children a lot of things through our actions. If you are frequently late to your classes you only indirectly teach them that it’s okay to be late for school.  Similarly, if you don’t plan your lessons well and end up struggling and stumbling in the class, you are teaching your students that it’s okay to not do your homework.

18. Try Solving Your Problems On Your Own:

seven_problem_solving_tips-300x300

Oftentimes teachers face problems in their class. These could range from behaviour issues to incomplete assignments to cheating in tests etc. It’s only fair to communicate class progress to the school administration. However, being a complaint center and calling the administration all the time to take actions is a sign of inefficiency on the part of a teacher. Also, when you are teaching senior students, calling your coordinators to take care of things or sending your students to the principal’s office all the time only makes students think that you are not independent or capable enough to put things right yourself.  Moreover, if you become habitual of taking all your petty issues to your boss, you might irritate them  too.

19. Be Supportive:

images (5)

Good teachers are understanding and supportive and know that not all students are capable enough to comprehend lessons in a normal classroom environment. Some may need extra time and help and a more personal approach, meaning extra-hours to clear their doubts pertaining to their lessons. It means that you will be readily available for them after school, or in your free periods. Extra classes make children and their parents see you in a completely different light. It tells them that you care, that you are willing to do more than you are being paid for!!

 20. Love Your Work:

images

I firmly believe that good teachers, the really competent ones, those who excel in their work are always the ones who are madly in love with their jobs. For a fruitful teaching career, being in love with teaching is extremely crucial. Nothing compares to the work you do when you are doing it all in the spirit of love. 

I hope “Good Teacher Traits” will contribute to your learning process. If you find anything missing here that you think will help me hone my skills, I’d love to hear from you. Thank you for visiting. 🙂

Writer: Shumila Malik

Leave a Reply

