Teacher Blunders

 
   Teacher
 My first experience as a teacher was a complete disaster. When I was only 13 years old, I had decided to become a teacher. So, when I got my dream job I was on the top of the world. It was only after working a few weeks that I felt my enthusiasm and confidence shaking and my frustration rising.
 
 I had no idea what I was doing. I had my books and other teaching materials with me but I felt like a fool. I fully comprehended King Lear, Tom Sawyer, Oliver Twist etc. I could easily write interesting and creative essays. But I didn’t know how to reach out to my students. I wanted to make a difference but I couldn’t. I just didn’t know how to teach.
oliver
 
In my attempt to make my students understand The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, I remember writing a summary of some of its chapters on a sheet of paper and then reading out the same to my class. My students looked bored. Most of them weren’t even listening to me. One of them said that he had never met any teacher who would merely read from a paper and expect him to follow her. I felt awful. To make matters worse, I had absolutely no class control. My boss often complained that my classes were so noisy they resembled a circus!
The_Adventures_of_Huck_Finn-cover_image
 Gradually I learned that my students disliked me. They kept comparing me to the English teacher who taught them earlier. They told me she had found a lucrative job at some bank so she quit school but that she was still a significant  part of their happy memories.  They said they missed her greatly. It broke my heart to see myself failing everyday. The only compliment I had ever received from my boss was regarding the workbooks checking. “You mark the lessons really well”, she had said.
 
At the end of three months, it was time for me to leave. I was only hired for three months. My boss must have been glad to get rid of me. In those three months, I had disappointed many people. More than anyone else I had disappointed myself! Before saying goodbye, my boss advised me to never forget class control ( which now I understand is absolutely essential in any classroom) on my next venture.
iStock_000001589846XSmall_crop380w
 After my job came to an end, I realized I had to deal with a never-ending list of weaknesses. Those three months helped me to explore myself. I was on the road to self-discovery and I wasn’t quitting. Teaching was my dream job after all. I wasn’t ready to give up on my dream….
 
 
                                                                   Writer: Shumila Malik
 
Leave a Reply

